2017/18 Board of Directors

Bill Wright, Chair

 Bill was borbill1n and raised, and has lived and worked, in the Saginaw Bay Watershed.    Wright has had a 40 year career in community planning and development at agencies based in Bay City, Flint and Saginaw.  During that time, he has been blessed to participate in the creation of Bay Metro Transit, Bay City’s Downtown Development Authority and the Saginaw Valley Rail Trail.  He has been able to help blend the efforts of local government, businesses and citizens through formation of the Saginaw Bay Watershed Council (one of the founding organizations of the Partnership for the Saginaw Bay Watershed), The Saginaw Basin Land Conservancy and the Saginaw Bay Watershed Initiative Network (WIN).  Bill also enjoys serving on the Bay Area Community Foundation’s Environment Committee most enjoys being a husband, father and grandpa!

 Laura Ogar, Vice Chair

Laura Ogar photo

Dennis Zimmerman, Secretary

Dennis Zimmerman

Dennis is the Supervisor for Lincoln Township, Clare County, MI.  4th term as Supervisor (running for 5th in 2016).Prior Affiliations:  Lake George POA (former Chair), Lake George Boosters Club,   Michigan Lake & Stream Associations, Inc.  (former Chair & Region 7 Vice-president), Michigan Waterfront Alliance  (1st member – Founding member), Muskegon River Watershed Assembly  (charter member),   North American Lake Management Society (NALMS)  Member, Michigan Chapter - NALMS  (MiNALMS)  Charter Member, Clare County Chapter of Saginaw Bay R C & D (Chair),   Saginaw Basin Alliance  (Member),   Saginaw Bay Watershed Council Assembly (Member), both of which merged into the Partnership for the Saginaw Bay Watershed  (1st paid-up member).  SPAC (Statewide Public Advisory Council to MDEQ for AOC remediation).  Education includes:  Michigan State University (3 – B.A.’s:   in Social Science, Labor & Industrial Relations, and Economics) Lansing Community College – supplemental classes in Social Science.  Military experience:  Vietnam Veteran 75th Ranger Regiment, Lima Co., Da Nang & Hue, South Vietnam.

Peter Frauson, Treasurer


 Zygmunt Dworzecki, Director

zyggy-pic-2Zygmunt P. Dworzecki, moved to Akron in 2001 has been interested and involved to many committees since retiring from Chrysler in 1999. Committees are, Tuscola County Planning Commission since 2006_ Chair; Saginaw Bay Coastal Initiative member since 2006; Tuscola County Parks and Recreation_ Chair for 4 years; Farm Bureau Land Use Committee for 5 years; East Michigan Council of Governments since 2008_Treasurer; Regional Economic Development Team, member since 2008; and am now on the board for the Greater Thumb Agri-Business Corporation as Board Secretary since 2014.  With the interest of a viable environment in the community where I live and to help keep the environment clean for our next generations is my goal.

James Hergott, Director

jim picture Jim Hergott was born and raised in Sturgis Michigan.  He has worked a 1500 acre seed and hay farm that is all irrigated for the last 8 years.  He graduated from Western Michigan University in 1984.  He retired after 28 years from the USDA.  He is the current Executive Director of Saginaw Bay RC&D.  Jim and Dawn have been married for 30 years, they have 3 married children and 4 grandchildren.  Conservation beliefs:      Everything occurs as a cycle; We manage we do not control;     Local people know best.  Special skills Streambank stability,  livestock exclusion, Project development and implementation,  grants search and writing.Interest morel mushroom hunting and ice fishing.




Taylor Hollis, Director

taylorboothTaylor Hollis is the Watershed Outreach Coordinator for the Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe. Taylor lives, works and attends graduate school in Mt. Pleasant, Michigan. She received her bachelor’s degree in Environmental Health and Safety from Central Michigan University and is currently pursuing her Master of Public Administration. The work of the Partnership for Saginaw Bay Watershed is closely aligned with Taylor’s position with the Tribe as she seeks to protect and restore Tribal water resources and educate the Tribal Community and public on related topics. The purpose and mission of the organization also follows closely with Taylor’s professional goals and personal interests.

David Karpovich, Director


Dr. David Karpovich currently serves as the H.H. Dow Endowed Professor of Chemistry and the Director of the Saginaw Bay Environmental Science Institute at SVSU.  Much of his research involves Michigan’s environment, water resources, and agriculture with a common theme being the wise use of natural resources.  He also leads the Dow Science and Sustainability Education Center at SVSU which provides opportunities for many high school students, teachers, and college students to become involved in environmental science research.  David earned his B. S. in chemistry from SVSU and his Ph. D. in analytical chemistry from Michigan State University.  He spent two years at the Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory in Richland, Washington before joining SVSU’s faculty in 1998.

Elan Lipschitz, Director

elanElan is the Director of Land Conservation for The Little Forks Conservancy. The Little Forks Conservancy has partnered with private landowners in or near the Tittabawassee River Watershed to protect and preserve the unique natural features of this region. Elan works with landowners as they make their decisions about how best to preserve their properties. He works to negotiate the terms of a conservation easement if that is the route of land protection decided upon by the landowner. In addition to conservation easements, he is involved in conservation buyer transactions, evaluation of lands to be purchased by the Conservancy, land conservation planning and various partnerships with other conservation organizations. Although not from Michigan, Elan has developed a deep appreciation for the wonders of our local landscapes. Elan holds a Bachelor’s degree from the University of Kansas and a Master’s Degree from Bard College.

Glenn Rowley, Director

received_1138313276191023 Glenn Rowley is the Membership Director at the Bay Area Chamber of Commerce. Responsibilities include:  membership recruitment and retention.  Glenn joined the Chamber staff in 2016.  His colorful career includes five years in the Insurance Restoration industry, eight years as an Insurance Agent with Farm Bureau Insurance, and five years in Finance and Insurance prior to that.   Upon graduating from John Glenn High School, he completed his secondary education at Delta College, Central Michigan University, and Saginaw Valley State University.  He is the Vice President of the Kawkawlin River Watershed Association, Chairman of Annual Kawkawlin River Cleanup, Co-Chair of the Small Business Council of the Bay Area Chamber of Commerce, Unit Commissioner with the Boy Scouts of America, Board member for the John Glenn Booster Club, President of the Tri City League, a volunteer with a number of charitable organizations, and Member of Grace United Methodist Church.  Glenn’s interests include; boating, biking, walking, bowling, golfing, and cooking.  He lives in Bangor Township with his wife Samantha and children, Andrew and Addison.